MongoDB Users

This section lists all your MongoDB users and offers options to reset a user's password or delete a user.
Available options on the Users page are:
- Create a new user
- Assign a user to a database
- Remove a user from a database
- Reset a user's password
- Delete a user
Create a New Database User
MongoDB users are essential for controlling who can access and interact with your databases, ensuring data security and controlled access to your application's information.
To create a new database user, click on the "Create User" button and fill in the username and password for the new user. New users are created with no roles - they can't access any database until they're assigned to one.

Assign a User to a Database
For a MongoDB user to be allowed to connect to a database, they need to be granted a role on that database. To assign a user to a specific database, click on the "Assign User" button and select a username, database, and role.

Remove a User from a Database
To remove a user's access from a database, click on the "Remove User" button, and in the new page, select a username, database, and role to revoke.

Removing a user's role will immediately remove that permission on the database and is useful when you want to disable a user's access without actually deleting the user.
Change User Password
If you need to change a user's password, click on the "Change Password" button next to that user. A page will open where you can insert the new password, then click on the "Change Password" button to save it.

Delete User
To delete a MongoDB user, click the Delete button next to the user in the Users table. The button turns into Confirm with a 5-second countdown; click it again before the countdown ends to delete the user.

⚠️ Deleting a MongoDB user will immediately remove that user and revoke all privileges to databases.
Built-in MongoDB users (such as admin and root) are marked as System User and cannot be edited or deleted.