Skip to main content
Version: 2.0.10

MySQL Users

This section lists all your MySQL users and offers options to reset a user's password or delete a user.

MySQL Users page listing database users with Change Password and Delete buttons MySQL Users page listing database users with Change Password and Delete buttons

Enable Show system users at the top of the page to also display internal/system MySQL accounts, which are hidden by default.

Available options on the Users page are:

  • Create a new user
  • Assign a user to a database
  • Remove a user from a database
  • Reset a user's password
  • Delete a user
INFORMATION

The Create User, Assign User to Database, and Remove User from Database buttons are disabled while the database service is not running.

Create a New Database User

MySQL users are essential for controlling who can access and interact with your databases, ensuring data security and controlled access to your website's information.

To create a new database user, click on the "Create User" button and fill in the name and password for the new user.

Create MySQL User form with username and password fields and a password strength bar Create MySQL User form with username and password fields and a password strength bar

Assign a User to a Database

For a MySQL user to be allowed to connect to a database, they need to be added (assigned) to that database. To assign a user to a specific database, click on the "Assign User to Database" button, select a username and database, and choose which privileges to grant.

Assign User to Database form with user and database dropdowns and a grid of privilege checkboxes Assign User to Database form with user and database dropdowns and a grid of privilege checkboxes

Remove a User from a Database

To remove a user from a database, simply click on the "Remove User from Database" button, and on that page select a username and database to revoke access from.

Remove User from Database form with user and database dropdowns Remove User from Database form with user and database dropdowns

Removing a user will immediately remove all permissions for that user to the database and is useful when you want to temporarily disable a user's access to a database without actually deleting the user.

Change User Password

If you need to change a user's password, simply click on the "Change Password" button next to that user. On that page, enter the new password (or generate a random one), then click the "Change Password" button to save it.

Change User Password form with the username prefilled and a new password field Change User Password form with the username prefilled and a new password field

Delete User

To delete a MySQL user, click the Delete button next to the user in the Users table. The button turns into Confirm with a 5-second countdown; click it again before the countdown ends to delete the user.

Delete button turned into a Confirm button with a countdown after the first click Delete button turned into a Confirm button with a countdown after the first click

DANGER

⚠️ Deleting a MySQL user will immediately remove that user and revoke all privileges to databases.