Skip to main content
Version: 2.0.10

PostgreSQL Users

PostgreSQL Users page listing database users with Change Password and Delete buttons PostgreSQL Users page listing database users with Change Password and Delete buttons

This section lists all your PostgreSQL users and offers options to reset a user's password or delete a user.

Available options on the Users page are:

  • Create a new user
  • Assign a user to a database
  • Remove a user from a database
  • Reset a user's password
  • Delete a user

Create a New Database User

PostgreSQL users (roles) are essential for controlling who can access and interact with your databases, ensuring data security and controlled access to your application's information.

To create a new database user, click on the "Create User" button and fill in the username and password for the new user.

Create PostgreSQL User form with username and password fields and a password strength bar Create PostgreSQL User form with username and password fields and a password strength bar

Assign a User to a Database

For a PostgreSQL user to be allowed to connect to a database, they need to be added (assigned) to that database. Assigning a user will grant them all privileges over the database. To assign a user to a specific database, click on the "Assign User" button and select a username and database.

Assign User to Database form with user and database dropdowns Assign User to Database form with user and database dropdowns

Remove a User from a Database

To remove a user from a database, click on the "Remove User" button, and in the new page, select a username to be removed from a database.

Remove User from Database form with user and database dropdowns Remove User from Database form with user and database dropdowns

Removing a user will immediately remove all permissions for that user to the database and is useful when you want to temporarily disable a user's access to a database without actually deleting the user.

Change User Password

If you need to change a user's password, click on the "Change Password" button next to that user. A page will open where you can insert the new password, then click on the "Change Password" button to save it.

Change User Password form with the username prefilled and a new password field Change User Password form with the username prefilled and a new password field

Delete User

To delete a PostgreSQL user, click the Delete button next to the user in the Users table. The button turns into Confirm with a 5-second countdown; click it again before the countdown ends to delete the user.

Delete button turned into a Confirm button with a countdown after the first click Delete button turned into a Confirm button with a countdown after the first click

DANGER

⚠️ Deleting a PostgreSQL user will immediately remove that user and revoke all privileges to databases.

INFORMATION

Built-in PostgreSQL roles (such as postgres and the predefined pg_* roles) are marked as System User and cannot be edited or deleted.